Virginia Tech® home

ID IGEP People

Leadership | Co-directors

Associate Professor of Virology
(540) 231-6158
Ann Stevens
Professor of Biological Sciences
(540) 231-9378

Steering Committee

Thomas Ewing
Igor Sharakhob


Thomas Ewing
Sarah Gouger
Coordinator, Center for Emerging, Zoonotic, and Arthropod-borne Pathogens (CeZAP)

Affiliated Faculty

At the Center for Emerging, Zoonotic, and Arthropod-borne Pathogens is an interdisciplinary and growing network of more than 100 Virginia Tech faculty from seven of Virginia Tech’s Colleges:

  • College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Liberal Arts & Human Sciences
  • College of Natural Resources & Environment
  • College of Science
  • Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine






Antimicrobial Countermeasures (vaccine and drug)

Group leaders:

Mike Zhang


Ecology and Epidemiology

Group leaders:
Kathleen Alexander
Dana Hawley


Host-Pathogen Interactions

Group leaders:
Clayton Caswell
Stephen Melville


Zoonotic Diseases

Group leaders:
John Maurer
Patrick Pithua

Public Health and Clinical Microbiology

Group leaders:
Andrea Bertke
Thomas Kerkering


Computational Biology and Disease Modeling

Group leaders:
Stanca Ciupe
Leah Johnson


Environmental Microbiology

Group leaders:
Leigh-Anne Krometis
Amy Pruden


Human Dimension of Infectious Diseases

Group leaders:

E. Thomas Ewing



Group leaders:
Coy Allen
Lijuan Yuan


Vector Biology and Vector-borne Diseases

Group leaders:
Michael Klemba
Igor Sharakhov

Pathogen Identification and Disease Diagnostic

Group leaders:
Boris Vinatzer

Fralin Life Sciences Institute
Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center (CRC)
Integrated Life Science Building (ILSB)
1981 Kraft Dr, Room 2036
Blacksburg, VA 24060


Ann Stevens:
Office Phone: (540)-231-9378
Lab Phone: (540)-231-2342
FAX: (540)-231-9307

A. Jonathan Auguste:
Office Phone: (540)231-6158